A pictorial display of the development of Colwyn Bay from 1850 to the present day.
We have recently obtained two wonderful pictures of the proposed design of the first Pier Pavilion in Colwyn Bay. We wish to share them with you.
They probably date from 1898/1899.
A ticket for a 1912 performance at the first Pier Pavilion.
Click on the link below to access
a History of the Bands who performed
at the Dixieland on Colwyn Bay Pier
pictured on the book cover above.
Chart-topping band The Real Thing
at the Pier, Colwyn Bay,
Do you remember:
‘You To Me Are Everything’?
The Colwyn Bay Hotel in 1954.
New photographs of Penmaen Rhos, Old Colwyn.
From Peter Johnson and Ivor Voni Davies collections:
Peter Johnson’s Postcards:
Ivor Voni Davies’ photographs.
Photographs of Old Colwyn from
John B. Davies’ collection.
The Welsh Dragon service
at Old Colwyn Station.
Billboard of sorts advertising
the Queen’s Hotel.
We would like to thank Norman for providing
the following selection of photos.
These cards may be part of a set of twenty.
near Old Colwyn Station.
Postcards from the early years
of the twentieth century.
Colwyn Bay in the 1950s.
The famous Park Hotel
can be seen in the bottom picture.
Pictures from Old Colwyn.
Tan Lan Community Hall.
Under construction in 1947.
Below, Tan Lan May Festival.
The African Institute Project.
Once upon a time a group of African students came to North Wales. The African Institute Project was instituted to explore their story, which we consider a paragon of integration.
This story is a fascinating chapter in the History of Colwyn Bay. This early example of ethnic integration reflected the tolerant nature of the Colwyn Bay community.
Powlson the Colwyn Bay Printer, pictured below in 1910. Students from the African Institute learnt their printing skills under the watchful eye of Mr. Powlson.
Pictured below, William Hughes, in top hat, founder of the African Institute.
The African Institute Research Group presented
their work on Friday, 15th July, 2016,
at the Centre for Cultural Engagement.
We were delighted to see so many people at our Open Day.
Looking towards Rhos Point at the dawn of the 20th Century.
would have brought William Hughes and students,
Kinkasa and Nkanza to Llandudno during their journey
from Liverpool to Colwyn Bay.
Our first display is called ‘Colwyn Bay at work, rest and play’.
One of the many Motor Car companies which no longer exist in Colwyn Bay.
The Circus has visited Colwyn Bay for many years.
Bertram Mills Circus is just one of many.
Colwyn Bay promenade looking East towards Rhyl.
Famous Cricket match at Colwyn Bay Cricket Club.
League Cricket Conference XI v West Indies.
Part of the West Indies 1984 tour.
The second display entitled ‘The Bay Line’.
See unique photographs of Old Colwyn and Colwyn Bay Train stations.
Display 3 entitled ‘Extinct and Surviving’.
Recalls amenities no longer existing, others which have survived.
The RBS Bank on Conwy Road.
Display 4 is called ‘Past and Present’ .
We feature photographs from the same part of town.
Find this on our in-store monitor display.
St. Paul’s Church Past and Present.
Thanks to David we now have Display 5 :
‘A55 Expressway, Colwyn Bay’s friend or foe?’
We trace the construction of the A55 Expressway through Colwyn Bay.
Has it been a friend or foe to the Bay?
Join the discussion by adding a comment in the box below.
We feature the Expressway’s proposed route and construction.
Above: the Expressway under construction in 1982.
Below: the Expressway and Bay View Centre in 2016.
Display 6 is entitled ‘The Bay in the 1930s’.
Includes six wonderful colour pictures to augment the map from the same decade.
New set of 1930s photographs.
1934 saw the incorporartion of
Colwyn Bay as a Borough.
A commemorative medal was issued.
The Weekly News produced this supplement.
New book on Colwyn Bay.
This is a fascinating book.
New book on North Wales.
This super book donated by Dr. Sibani Roy
is an excellent addition to our archive.
All Our Yesterdays has the best images of our town.